Impossible goals?

Every year my pastor challenges us to read the entire Bible through in a year. And every year I start out all gun ho, but inevitably I hit Numbers or 1 Chronicles and it all just goes downhill from there. This year, I decided to try a new approach. I am not going to read through from Genesis to Revelation. Instead I am going to have several books going at once. For example, I’m starting in Genesis, 1 Samuel, I Chronicles, Psalms, Isaiah, and then I’m knocking out small New Testament books first. This might sound like it would be really hard to keep track of, or even remember what I read but I usually read a couple chapters a day in each of these books (except 1 Chronicles…I can only take so much of geneologies!) With the help of several bookmarks and a master reading chart to mark my progress, I’ve been pretty excited to actually be able to keep it going for a while now, and I really like getting diferent viewpoints of Scripture all in the same day.
For those of you who haven’t read your Bible through in a while. Take the challenge and be creative. Find a way that works for you, and maybe you can remind me in a few months to keep it up! I’m sure I’ll need the reminder!

