The first adolescence

I don’t know what it is, but lately Ella has been very sensitive and moody. I talked about how Ella hasn’t been wanting to stay with the kids program at church in a previous post, so we’ve tried to keep her in the service with us. But that has been just the tip of the iceberg. She has been extremely clingy to Erica and she has meltdowns sometimes for no apparent reason. The other day, she wanted to be done with her dinner and just started bawling. She went out with her grandma and grandpa and when they got to the store, she started crying and wanted to go home to be with her mommy. I was playing with her in the snow and she just broke down in tears. OK, the snow I get, she was the same way with sand when we took her to the beach for the first time in San Diego a few years ago. But all this other stuff, it’s hard to understand what’s wrong because she still is not communicating very well. They say that the terrible two’s are really like the first adolescence, trying to assert their independence and yet still terribly clingy to mom and dad. I hope this is not a shadow of things to come when she is a teenager. I just need wisdom on how to get through this, and help her get through it too.
Pax on the other hand is getting his first teeth, although you would never tell by his sleeping pattern. He still sleeps great, which I am very thankful for. I have to say, he is a great baby. He is always so happy and smiley, he’s very easy going and content. Here he is learning to master eating cereal.

