What are you searching for?

We all have questions, sometimes it’s nice to have answers.

I was struck today by the fact that there have been some people who have turned to this blog to find the answer to one very important question. I can’t imagine what circumstances in life would lead someone to google to find the answer to this question, “does God understand what I’m going through?” I imagine that the situation must be very serious. That the people who type a question like this into a search engine have exhausted all their resources, or have no resources to turn to. I don’t know.

You see, I use google analytics, and one of the features of the software is it tells you what words people searched to find your blog. The reason behind this is usually so you can make money by selling ads that fit what people are searching for. I usually don’t even read this report, but someone visited my blog from Africa today and I was curious how they found me. What I found was very interesting. If you type, “does God understand what I’m going through?” into google, my blog is the first search result that pops up. This astounds me, and humbles me. I don’t want to pass up an opportunity like this to tell people that whatever you are going through, God does understand. And so much more than that, He cares about what you are going through! We don’t have to wonder if this is true. He tells us that it is! Psalm 139 is a beautiful passage describing how intimately familiar God is with our lives and how he has shaped our days for us, and how His thoughts are always towards us!

It’s not just a few people searching for answers, we all are. If we stop for a minute and think about it, we all need to know that what we are facing we can get through with God’s strength. And I would not want to pass up the opportunity to share with anyone searching, that God loves you so much, that he was willing to pay the price for your sins. He sent His Son Jesus Christ to live on earth as a man, and to die and take God’s wrath upon Himself so that you and I could be forgiven. If you believe this, and you have never done this before, all you need to do to be forgiven is ask God and He will save you!

If you have questions, feel free to leave them in the comments and I will be glad to help anyone who stumbles on this blog searching for answers. I don’t know all the answers, but there are a few questions that I have found the answers to in God’s Word and I would love to share them with you.

I realize that I never finished the series on Psalm 139 so tomorrow I will see if I can find my old notes and type it up.

