Interacting with Psalm 33

How dependable am I?

Well, this morning Erica had to go to a resale show in Brookpark, and I watched the kids. I am not a good stay at home dad, there is just way too much to keep track of. What time do they wake up, when do they eat, how much medicine to give to Pax, when he had Motrin last, when should he go back down to sleep, what should Ella wear…the list goes on. Usually Ella has yogurt and fruit mixed together for breakfast, but I accidentally gave her yogurt and sweet potatoes. I didn’t realize it until I was doing the dishes later, when I had to laugh at myself for making Ella take “one more bite” before being allowed to leave the table, even though she was on the verge of tears saying, “no thank you!” Now I know why!

Just a small example of how I can’t always follow through or follow up on what I need to, but there are other more serious examples of how I am not the most dependable person.

My initial observations of Psalm 33 leave me feeling that God is the most dependable being in the universe. His word is absolute. He says it, and it is so. He plans it, and it comes to pass. He promises to protect those who trust in Him, and He does. What an amazing God! And I am so glad that I can trust His name and His word…

“For He spoke, and it came to be; He commanded, and it stood firm.”
“The counsel of the LORD stands forever, the plans of His heart to all generations.”
“Behold, the eye of the LORD is on those who fear him, on those who hope in His steadfast love, that He may deliver their soul from death…”

