What do these three things have in common?

1. The Alarm Clock
2. My Old Car
3. The Weatherman

I’ve been studying Psalm 33 to prepare for an upcoming sermon, and I was thinking about the idea of ‘dependability’. As I was walking to work this morning, I started seeing that I could add to this list of things that are not 100% dependable. The RTA bus schedule, my coworkers, the plumbing in my house, the government, gas pedals (sorry Toyota), a light bulb, the elevator (yeah, I got stuck twice in the elevators at work. Not today, but I was thinking about it as I was riding it), the mail, my bank account security, my job…the list could go on and on! What is dependable in life? Sometimes we might think that there are certain people who we can depend on, no matter what. But we all know that people will let us down some time or another. I started to get a little depressed as I thought about it, realizing everything that could either go wrong or that wouldn’t live up to its promises. But that’s where Psalm 33 comes in. So if you haven’t read it yet, give it a try.

For those of you who prepare sermons or Bible lessons, I use Wayne McDill’s “Twelve Essential Skills for Great Preaching.” It doesn’t matter if you are a beginner or a seasoned preaching veteran, this book gives some great insights into the process of taking text and turning it into a message. Find the limited preview on Google Books if you’re interested.

