A letter to my readers…HELP!

Dear readers,

It has been an incredible journey for me so far (hopefully for you too). I started this blog a few times before. Years ago, and I never really stuck to it But recently it seems I have been disciplined enough to blog consistently. I tried to blog every day, just to get into the habit. Now I am tracking hits and pageviews, and reading other blogs to see what they blog about, and reading blogs on how to blog better, and I have gone back to asking the question, why do I blog? And, who am I blogging for?

If I am only blogging for people who know me, that requires a certain kind of content. It can be more personal and just family update kind of stuff. If though I am trying to attract new people, maybe people who don’t already know who I am, then my content has to be more general more often.

I also was very excited to have 17 subscribers to this blog, which might not sound like a lot, but since I am just starting out I thought that was pretty good. But when I lost three, I never thought about people unsubscribing? And so I ask myself the question, “why did they unsubscribe?” Could it be that my posts are turning into random dribble? Am I offending people with my boring poems…er song lyrics? Do I blog too much, that people don’t like getting all those annoying email notifications? Should I blog less often but with better content?

All this to say, to my faithful readers who were with me here at the beginning, I am trying to find my voice as a writer. I need your help. Why do you come here? What do you want from me in the future? What posts did you most enjoy? Which one’s were more boring than the public service announcement channel? I have added a poll to the side of this blog, please feel free to select as many options as you like, and if you would rather choose “other” please leave a comment on this post to explain what/why. You can leave posts anonymously if you like. I won’t be offended, honestly. I just want to give you, the reader, all that you want and more!

sincerely,

lee

One Reply to “A letter to my readers…HELP!”

  1. As far as I'm concerned, don't change a thing. 🙂 I like reading whatever you have to say but that's because I know you. Maybe for people that don't know you they are looking for anecdotes, controversial theological discussions, funny stories, etc. But this is all coming from someone who right now hasn't worked up the motivation to get their blog going again, so take it with a grain of salt. 🙂 I will say though that the more I read your blog the more I'm inspired to get mine going.

    Like

Comments are closed.