A Strange Disease

Some days I come down with this illness, and so far no doctor has been able to figure it out. It's almost totally unpredictable what day it will happen, but I can always predict what time. Recently, it seems to be happening more and more. When I get it, it completely knocks me out. I get tired and lethargic. Sometimes I feel pain, usually in my lower back, but sometimes I don't. Sometimes there a tinge of a headache that comes along with it. It makes it so that I can't think or focus on even the most mundane tasks. Conversation hurts, and I definitely need to lie down and just let it pass. I'm talking about "I just got home from work" syndrome. Maybe you have experience this, too?

Problem is, my wife has "I've been at home with the kids all day" and as her husband I need to help her out. And while I wait for doctor's to find the cure for my IJGHFW, I guess I will just have to take matters into my own hands. The only thing I've found that helps is a positive attitude and prayer on the ride home. Getting my heart right after a stressful day of work, to begin focusing on ministering to my family, is so important. I have to realize that work problems should stay at work. Sometimes, just taking off my tie before coming in the door is a good reminder to me that my 'office job' is over and I am shifting roles into my 'husband and father' role.

The one thing I have the hardest time with is emptying the dishwasher. It's one of the only things that Erica asks that I do each day. She is such an amazing stay at home mom, but for some reason I can't always get this one task done. It's a sad showing really. And it's something I'm working on.

So whether you have a combination of two IJGHFW's or a IBAHWTKAD (I know, these acronyms will never catch on) we can encourage each other to be all that God wants us to be for our spouse's and children by fighting these symptoms off. Leave me a comment!

Oh, and check out my friend's blog, www.braddickinson.blogspot.com he used to blog before and he has started up again. He's a very good writer so check him out.

Don't forget about the poll, it closes in a few days. In case you missed it, please read the "Letter to my Readers…HELP!" post and vote.

3 Replies to “A Strange Disease”

  1. Thanks for the shout-out my friend. I guess now I have to keep blogging eh? 🙂 And you wear a tie to work?? That's crazy. I don't think I've worn a tie since I left seminary.

    Like

Comments are closed.