Help Me Find My Voice – answer the poll!

I continue my quest to become a better blogger, and I'm already starting to take the feedback from the poll into consideration. I'm reading several books and blogs about how to become better at this web diary of sorts, and I know I need to focus on what you all want. It seems most of you are interested in hearing about life, my life as a dad and my life as a Christian. For inspiration, I started searching around on the blogsphere for other Christian guys who blog about being a father and I couldn't really find any! I guess I'm on my own. But perhaps that's a good thing, because it means I will be providing a valuable service, or at least a fresh perspective that many people can't find elsewhere on the web. I hope everyone who reads this blog will be inspired, moved, provoked and entertained. Let me tell you what this blog has done for me…

I find myself evaluating my attitudes and actions more. After all, I might blog about it and that's a scary thing. I realize how far from being a 'great' dad and husband I am. I see that I have so much to work on. This is good and bad. Bad because I can't perform the most important role in my life as anything less than 'great'. The only positive side is, at least I guarantee myself lots of material to write about as I learn and grow.

I think about how what I'm learning applies to what I'm living. I used to journal a lot in a little leather book I picked up in Venice, Italy. I would write about what was going on, and I would put pen to paper to capture what God was teaching me at the moment. I also used to carry little Moleskines in my pocket and jot down thoughts from my daily Bible reading. These things have taken a nose dive since my second kid arrived, I have no one to blame but myself. But I do enjoy practicing this discipline again. And blogging daily really forces me to interact with my own life and thoughts regularly.

I love my kids, and blogging about them makes me appreciate them more. The little things they do that are cute or funny stand out to me a little more, because I'm thinking about what memories I want to capture and remember the rest of my life and what memories I just can't wait to share. Of course, I don't have to blog to do that, but it has helped me do it even more.

So, only a few more days left to answer the poll. Please give me your feedback, I really appreciate it. If this is your first time reading this blog, still vote and let me know what you would like to read on my blog, feel free to leave me a comment on this post as well, I do read all of your comments!

Check back tomorrow, I'll be writing about 'Holding the Hand of a Thief'

One Reply to “Help Me Find My Voice – answer the poll!”

  1. I know what you mean about improving the blog and trying new things… I've been at that myself. (oh, and as a musician, I am addicted to moleskin notebooks and glad you mentioned them!!) One thing I recently read was on the importance of having a disclaimer. I hate that we have to be like that in this day and age (wow, I just sounded twice my age), but yeah. Maybe bc my blog refers to military stuff, a disclaimer applies more to me, but just a thought to share with you. I threw mine at the very bottom of my page. If you think I missed something in it, feel free to make suggestions!

    Like

Comments are closed.