A Couch Fast

We reached dish Nirvana for about ten seconds today when all of the dishes were in the dishwasher, not one was left in the sink. It felt so good. But, was suddenly interrupted by the bowls and spoons from Ella and Pax’s dinner.

Let me introduce you to the art of dish-less eating. I began this quest in high school, honed my craft in college and have perfected it as an art in fatherhood. For starters, anything that can be eaten without a plate should be eaten without a plate. As a boy, I learned the skill of eating over the sink from my father. This technique eliminates the middle man. Instead of crumbs going from your mouth onto a plate and eventually into the sink, they go straight from mouth to drain. If this is not an option, the next step is to use anything else possible as a plate instead. Napkins, paper towels, sheets of paper, cardboard boxes (if you’re getting pizza, just rip the box in half, this skill was perfected in college) The third level of dish-less eating does involve disposable plates and cups. But it may be important to use the plastic cup as a bowl (for cereal or soup, the Australians actually use cups for soup anyway, so think of it as an international experience) We had the teens over to hang out at our house Friday, which was a good excuse to buy paper plates and plastic cups. I’m a disposable plate and cup junkie, and it is key to being dirty dish free.

Having kids means having dirty dishes, it’s inevitable. But with some hard work it is possible to every once in a while reach that Nirvana state where not only is the sink empty, but there are no straggling dishes around the house, in the diaper bag, in the car, under the couch etc.
I was challenged today by something I read in “1001 Things it Means to be a Father”, it said being a dad means “getting off the couch.” I decided in order to fight my IJGHFW symptoms, that I am going to take a couch fast on Monday. No sitting on the couch (unless it is to read a book to my son or daughter), not until after they have gone to bed for the night. Even then, I may do some other work around the house that I have not been able to get to. As a dad, it is important to be involved, to spend time with my kids, playing laughing and loving. If you are brave, perhaps you will also join me in a couch fast. Make tomorrow your day to get done whatever it is that you haven’t been able to do or to spend some quality time with someone that you need to love. I might make this an annual event, maybe over the years it will grow bigger and bigger until it is a movement across the country for dads to focus on spending time with their families in the evening instead of vegging out on the couch. But for now, I will just focus on me. I’ll tell you how it goes tomorrow.
If you liked this post, feel free to follow my blog or subscribe here!
One Reply to “A Couch Fast”

Comments are closed.