Backyard Camping

Simple memories stick in a child’s mind.  I know that’s the case with me.  I remember the out of the ordinary.  Like that time when my two brothers and I made a movie with my dad.  There was a prince and a monster and two princesses…(guess who had to play one of those parts?)  It was out of the norm so I remember it to this day.  Erica says she can remember when her dad would say late at night, “Hey you guys want to make pancakes?” and they would bake and eat pancakes after it was way past her bedtime.  These simple, fun and inexpensive activities are great because they are memories that will last a lifetime.

We decided to do something out of the norm.  I’ve had the camping bug lately, but just the thought of actually packing the kids up with all their necessities is daunting for a one night trip to a campground.  So I just set up the tent in the backyard and started a fire!  We were only outside for about an hour, since I did this after I got home from work.  Ella was amazed and loved throwing sticks in the fire.  She brought her scooter into the tent, but that didn’t last long since it was impossible to ride around in there.  So we grabbed a ball and started tossing it around.Pax enjoyed it, too.  If you’re looking for something to do this weekend but don’t have a lot of money to spend, think of something outside of the norm, like backyard camping, and go for it!  This is the stuff great memories are made of!

