The ESSENTIAL Father’s Day To Do List

You may think this post is for wives and kids to follow, but you’d be wrong.  This is a Father’s Day To-Do list that is just for dads. “What?! I thought Father’s Day was supposed to be a day for me to sit back, relax, and take the day off!?”  Wrong again.  This is not your one day a year to slack off.  There are other holidays for that.  This is the biggest day of the year for you, dad.  Use this day to renew your commitment to being a dad.  Use the days leading up to it to evaluate how you’re doing at the biggest responsibility of your life!

Last year was the first year I decided to make Father’s Day resolutions.  I’m reviewing them this year, to challenge myself to constantly be better.  This week I will be studying God’s Word and what it says about being a dad.  Meditating on how God is like a Father to me.  Praying for my wife and kids.  And rejuvenating my walk with God, not only for my own sake, but for my kids’ as well.

Here’s the ESSENTIAL Father’s Day To Do list:

Evaluate – It’s easy to just let the status quo continue, and it’s hard to see my own fathering skills objectively.  But I must reflect on how I’m living, my strengths and weaknesses, and what I can do to improve.  Last night Erica and I sat at the kitchen table and talked.  It was good to hear how she’s doing, what she’s having a hard time balancing and about ways she would like me to pitch in around the house.  Do a check of your own life, try to be objective.  If you can’t be objective, ask your wife for input.  After she picks her jaw up off the floor, she will probably have a few kind words to say!

Communicate – Dads get cards on Father’s day, that’s just normal.  But this is the year I’m going to start writing a letter to each of my kids on Father’s Day.  This is part of the evaluation process for me as well, because I’m focusing on the special relationship I have with each of my kids, and how they are different.  Take time to communicate with each of your kids, wether it be a letter, or a conversation while shooting hoops or talking while going for a hike.  Let them know how you feel about them, and what makes them special to you.

Learn – Take the next few days to read a book about being a dad, or study the Bible about fatherhood.  And if your wife gives you a good book ON father’s day, read that one, too.  I’m reading “Bringing up Girls” by Dr. James Dobson, to help me better understand what my little girl needs.  I’m also spending this week to meditate on what God says about being a dad.  I’m starting a second blog just to track these thoughts, you can follow it at www.godsmorethanwords.wordpress.com.

Resolve – Make some commitments.  Write them down.  I plan to do this on Sunday as the culmination of my week.  Then carry them with me all the time.  Let it spark the change that needs to happen.  And then pray!  Pray hard for the change needed to become an even better dad!

Get Involved – I’m going to be taking another Couch Fast on Sunday, and I hope you’ll join me.  I want to spend Father’s Day being a father.  Rolling around on the floor wrestling with my kids or going for a walk outside.  The last time I did this, I was NOT disappointed. I can’t wait to do it again!

So instead of making it a day to kick back, BBQ, and watch sports uninterrupted;  Make it a Father’s Day that your KIDS will remember for the rest of their lives!

