Withdrawal Mondays

As many parents will testify, the love we get from our kids is sometimes like a drug. It can make us feel so happy. Their smiles can transform the most ordinary moments in a day into euphoric joy. We long for that joy, so we plan fun activities and think of creative experiences to bring out that laughter and love. Their happiness is our happiness. Hearing a baby laugh once is never enough. The silliness must be repeated again and again and again. Like an addiction.

Every day, I get up before the kids are awake, sneak out the door and go to work. I’ll call home to talk to Ella and Pax, or Erica will call me with something cute they did, or a first Pax just had, and I smile. But it’s not the same. I can’t wait to get home and throw them up in the air and watch them laugh so hard they can barely breathe!

But that only lasts so long. The evenings fly by and soon they are tucked neatly in their beds (or rolling around in the crib in Pax’s case) and it will be another twenty hours before I see them again. A daily fix, that’s all the evenings are.

Then the weekend arrives, and it’s an exhilarating rush. I get to spend all day Saturday and Sunday with my family. I get to see the enormous smile on Pax’s face when he wakes up from his nap! I get to sit with Ella on my lap and watch Saturday morning cartoons. We spend the summer weekends in the backyard pool or taking trips to Chuck E. Cheese’s. By Sunday night, I’m feeling pretty good.

That’s why Mondays are the hardest days of all.

4 thoughts on “Withdrawal Mondays”

Comments are closed.