Most Awesome Pool Snacks!

One of my most distinct childhood memories, besides building leaf forts and having mud ball fights* with my two older brothers, was going to the pool. We lived just around the corner from the city pool so we would ride our bikes there all the time.  But if we ever went to the beach or city pool with my parents they usually brought along some snacks.  Two that I remember most are vanilla wafers and Twizzlers.

Now, I hardly consider these to be the most awesome pool snacks ever. But when I’m going to the pool, part of me always thinks about picking up a box of the smooth round wafers just for old time’s sake.  I never do though, because now I hate vanilla wafers (unless they are in banana pudding)

Erica has a distinct childhood memory of pool snacks as well.  She was swimming at a friend’s house when she had her first oatmeal creme pie.  It made such an impression on her that she always thinks of them to bring them to the pool.

So tomorrow we’re heading to the water park.  Erica asked me what kind of snacks I wanted to bring.  I froze.  I didn’t want vanilla wafers and Twizzlers, but that’s all I could think of.  I asked her to surprise me.

So what’s on tap? Doritos, Honey BBQ Flavor Twists, Life Saver Gummies, Mini Oreo’s, Kit Kat’s and …oatmeal creme pies.

What are your all time favorite things to eat at the pool?

*mud ball fights may result in damage to property and/or serious bodily harm. (mud balls  are actually harder than you might think…especially if they start to dry)

One Reply to “Most Awesome Pool Snacks!”

  1. I always think of what Aunt Betsy used to bring to Sleepy Hollow… Bugles! They will forever be thought of as “beach/ swimming snacks” to me. Oatmeal Creme Pies?! Lucky kiddos! 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.