Obey! Obey! Obey!

I have no idea where this comes from, but Ella will push her bin of toys around the house and say, “Obey! Obey! Obey!”  Sure we teach her to obey.  At the dinner table tonight, out of the blue, she quotes one of the Bible verses we’ve been working on.  “Childwen obey youw pawents in da Worwd,” although to hear her say it is so much cuter than to just read it.

So tonight we played outside after dinner for a little while before baths.  When we came in the house I asked her to take her shoes and sunglasses off and then I proceeded to get Pax ready to go in the tub. (Today is his actual birthday by the way!)  There is a little basket by the back door where we usually keep her sunglasses and her shoes are stored on the shelf underneath.  Seconds later, Ella came running in to the bathroom with her sunglasses on, so I asked her again to put them “by the door.”  She very dutifully took them off and set them neatly on the floor in front of the bathroom door.

“No, over there” I said as I pointed toward the back door, which is in the room next to the bathroom.  She picked up her sunglasses and began to set them on the back of the toilet, since that was where I was pointing.

“By the back door, Ella.” Now I was struggling to explain exactly what I wanted.

“By your shoes”

Off she ran and a moment later she returned glasses-less and we continued with our bedtime routine.  I didn’t think twice about it.

It wasn’t until later when I let the dog out before bed that I saw this on the back steps…

She is such a little helper and while she has her moments when she is testing us to see how much she can get away with, she usually just wants to please and do what we ask.  I love seeing obedience in action! She makes her dad so proud!

