Helping Out Around the House

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I can do to help my wife, who is a SAHM, other than the usual list:

1. Pick up after myself

2. Take the children out somewhere

3. Send her to the spa for a day

Last week I was working late every day and I know that she looks forward to me coming home in the evenings to give a hand.  So this week I’ll be getting home at regular time and I’ve decided I want to do a little something extra to help.

I want to start cooking. Nothing too drastic, maybe just once a week to start. This may very well be a disaster waiting to happen. When I was in high school I struggled to make cool aid, but quickly learned the difference between sugar and flour…  And I failed Foods class due to a batch of cookies that turned into one giant gooey rectangular mess.  (I’m still not sure what happened there, maybe I didn’t learn the difference between sugar and flour as well as I thought)

See what else God is teaching me about my role ‘around the house.’

Now though, I feel somewhat more prepared to take on this challenge since installing several more fire alarms throughout the house and purchasing a fire extinguisher.

I’m no master of the grill, I have only this one perfect burger to add to my cooking resume’!

So I’m just wondering if there is anybody out there who knows how to cook, that can point me in the right direction for a few easy meals, or a good website or blog that I could follow for ideas.   I can do spaghetti, hot dogs, tomato soup and lasagna.  Other than that, I’m stuck.

11 Replies to “Helping Out Around the House”

  1. Hey Lee, You need to watch Good Eats with Alton Brown. It’s on the food network. See if you can get any of the dvds from the library. Season 1 has some very basic cooking ideas, things that every cook should know. He is a super cool host, we all love watching the show. The boys will even ask for it sometimes!
    Happy Cooking!!! ~Amie

    Like

  2. I do most of the cooking in our house, even when I’m working, which I am happy to do. I have been cooking for about 30 of my almost 40 years, so I tend to just throw stuff together!

    Baked Chicken Breasts

    8 chicken breasts
    2c of breadcrumbs
    0.5c of grated Parmesan cheese
    1tsp pepper (black or white)
    1tsp onion powder
    1tsp garlic powder
    1tsp oregano
    olive oil

    Lightly grease a baking sheet* w/ olive oil.
    In a bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients.
    Coat the greased baking sheet* with about 1/3 of the mix.
    Place the chicken breasts, evenly spaced, on the sheet.
    Cover the breasts with the remaining dry mix.
    Cook @ 350F for 15 minutes, ensuring that the breasts reach an internal temperature of at least 170F,(this will take longer if frozen breasts are used).

    * I like to use a jelly roll pan.

    The flavorings/seasonings can be changed to taste, but I always start w/ 2c of breadcrumbs.

    Like

    1. So this sounds pretty easy for a main course, but I’m cooking just for two. If i take it down to 2 chicken breasts from eight, what other adjustments do I need to make? I never undertsood cutting recipes in half…

      Like

      1. You can still make up the full amount of coating, just use what you need and store the rest for later use (or trashing!).

        Like

  3. i cook pretty often at home.. my wife is home all day with the four kids and I know she doesn’t want to do anything after i get off other than decompress. i usually cook stuff that requires little prep and can cook all at once.. whether it’s in a pot on the stove or in the oven. there’s a lot of ground meat in ours. but that’s also for the kids. you can brown ground up meat, add some ranch beans and seasoning packets to the meat and you have taco filling.. just shells or tortillas if you’re risky. even though I’m white.. I’ve developed the skill in the mexican food.. 🙂 As for a blog or website.. I pretty much just throw it in a pan and see what sticks…

    Like

  4. Stir Fry – Heat up some rice (3 cups of water/1.5 cups of rice or any other 2/1 ratio. Bring water to a boil then add rice, cover and turn to low [simmer] for 20 minutes) then sauté a clove or two of garlic, an onion and some pepper. Once browned add in some other veggies such as carrots, broccoli, green beans, corn, spinach or something else and add some soy sauce. Remove veggies and cook up some meat (chicken, beef or other) with some more soy sauce. Once cooked – add veggies back in to heat up some more. Add more soy sauce if desired. Serve with more soy sauce to disguise any burnt veggies. 😛 For some additional flavor you can also add pineapple or water chestnuts after the meat is cooked.

    It’s a weekly staple in this household. Go get ’em (her)! Cheering you on.

    Like

Comments are closed.