A Day in the Life of a Working Dad

There are two types of men in the world.  Sissies, and Ex-Sissies.

I think it is human nature to not like to work.  Wether that was part of the curse on Adam in the garden I don’t know, but men have a natural aversion to most things that require physical labor.   Even though my dad did a great job trying to instill a good work ethic in me, I have to admit I am still pretty lazy.  Until recently when I moved into the Ex-Sissy camp.  I’m not going to say it’s a result of a New Year resolution, but it stemmed more from a conversation Erica and I had a few nights ago about being more disciplined.  We decided to turn off the TV at night (except for Tuesday nights because that’s when N.C.I.S. is on) and cut out Facebook surf time at night and see how much more productive we can be.  Here’s how it’s working out so far…

Wednesday: Woke up at 5:00 AM and got into work around 6:00.  Taught all day until 4:30 and arrived home at 5:30.  Hugged my kids and immediately made dinner (don’t get too excited, it was just heating up leftovers and making an easy mac for Ella) because Erica had to drop a meal off at someone’s home.  Then we cleaned up before heading to church to work with the teens.  After church at around 8:45 we got Ella ready for bed and then I rocked my son (he’s sick now) back to sleep.  I crashed for a few minutes and then came downstairs and helped my wife with her secret project until 10:30, then I loaded the dishwasher and cleaned the bathroom, finally sat down at 11:45 PM until my son started crying again at which time I held him and rocked him again until 12:55AM.

Where’s that remote again?

Have a good (productive) day, everybody!

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of a Working Dad”

  1. I’ve noticed I’m on Facebook less and less. I only check it because I realize “hey I haven’t checked Facebook all day. I wonder what d-baggy things my brother is saying.”

    My days are similar.. Up between 5:30-6:00 with the purpose of reading and praying. Wake my daughter up at six and get her ready. Hopefully the wife is up and no one else, she can take over and I log into work. Work until 4pm and come out to the inmates running the asylum. Usually make dinner and kids fed by 5:30. Followed by getting ready for bed by 6:30. Reading with the kids and snacks are hopefully done by 7:30.

    Two of the kids are usually down at that time. That’s when I usually get to eat, pick up some, or just take a break until 8:30 when I usually log back in to work as the remaining kids resist going to bed. I usually sign off again at 11:30 and if it’s anything like last night I crash on the couch just trying to decompress.

    I hope the baby is feeling better soon.

    Like

Comments are closed.