Slow News Day

My daughter was unusually well-behaved tonight.

She was kind, and polite.  She rarely disobeyed.  She also usually obeyed right away.  What’s going on?  She must not be feeling well.

No, really.  She was sick.

The fake smile is pretty much automatic whenever she sees the camera.  I was trying to catch her looking up at the cold washcloth, her eyes were rolling into the back of her head, instead I got this toothy grin.

But by the end of the night, after her bath and Erica laying down with her and reading some books to her in bed, I hear the radio blasting from her room (remember, she does have hearing loss) and the sounds of people jumping as they have a little mommy daughter dance party.  She must be feeling better…

And the other day, Ella was throwing one of her tantrums right before we had to leave for church, so I just let her sit in the dining room and cry until she was done.  Apparently, “sometimes girls just need to cry” is what she told me.  I don’t get it.  But I’m glad she got it out of her system.

In other news, I was debating about what to do with my hair.  There is this really great stylist, but they’re a little more expensive and I didn’t want to spend that much on my hair, on the other hand, I’ve done the six dollar cuts before and ended up here.  When I got on the bus that day I found $20 dollars and immediately thought it was a sign that I should splurge and get a good cut.  Then ironically someone had searched the very same day for the words ‘six dollar haircut’ and landed on my blog, which I also took as confirmation that I should splurge.  But in the end I didn’t, I went to the barber that didn’t even greet me, just asked me my phone number and name and told me to have a seat.  Here’s what the end result was, which I wasn’t ready for but am getting used to.

Pax also got his hairs cut by yours truly, although I don’t think I posted any pictures of it.  He used to have a reddish hue to his hair, but that has pretty much left since I chopped it short.  Here’s the handsome boy.

It’s almost impossible to get a picture of this guy, anytime I get the camera out to snap one of him he usually turns around and high tails it to something he shouldn’t be getting into.

should've had the gate up...

So that’s what’s been going on here.  I’m reading a great book about Reclaiming Adoption by Dan Cruver, I’ll have to write about it sometime and Erica’s reading Global Soccer Mom.  We’ve got our adoption fundraiser still going right now, so check that out too.  Have a good night!

One Reply to “Slow News Day”

Comments are closed.