Worse Than We Thought

Ella had an audiologist appointment Friday to have a battery of hearing tests and to pick out her new ear molds.  I’m glad she went because lately, we’ve noticed a few things that have caused us some alarm.

First, she is an expert lip reader.  How do I know?  I tested it several times over the past few weeks.  I’d say her name to get her attention, and then I’d mouth a question or phrase.  She responded correctly every time.  So now I was starting to think that her hearing was worse than I previously thought.

Second, pool time is hard.  Her hearing aides are expensive and not waterproof.  In fact, a few weeks ago I took them out before we all got in the pool, only to feel them in my swimsuit pocket about two hours later!  My stomach dropped, and Erica could tell by the look on my face that something horrible had just happened.  Luckily, there are a few tips and tricks she knew to help dry them and air them out, remove the batteries, set them on the laptop, etc.  The next day we replaced the batteries and they worked!  But, the point is, when she is in the pool, she can’t wear her hearing aides and it makes communication EXTREMELY difficult.  The neighbors must think we yell at our kids all the time, but we really have to raise our voice to get her attention.  Even then, I find myself having to make up signs to communicate things like, not splashing people in the face or keeping the water in the pool.  And I frequently ask her to repeat back what I just said.  This alone has prevented hours of yelling frustration and stress.  But is scares me how little she actually hears without her hearing aides and how loud we have to yell to be able to talk to her.

I'm sure her hearing aides were in my pocket, right this very instant

Third, and this breaks my heart, if Erica and I are talking to each other, or just not looking at Ella when we talk to her, she’ll immediately move to where she can see our face and ask, “What you say?” so she can read our lips.  Sometimes she even presses her ear up to my mouth when she’s sitting on my lap.  So when the audiologist said that her hearing is a little worse than they thought, it came as no surprise.  Our next question was, has it always been this bad or is it continually getting worse?  Of course, there’s no way to really know.  The only thing they can do is adjust her hearing aides to a higher volume.  So that should happen in a few weeks.  Surprisingly though, she talks very well, which the audiologist also commented on.

Ella wanted a rainbow ear mold, but she had to settle for a swirl of blue, pink and yellow.  We’ll see how that turns out, but from what I hear the yellow is p r e t t y bold.

I sure do love this girl!

Know what else was worse than we thought.  All of Saturday night…Ella threw up three times in her room, and then twice downstairs and Pax threw up once in his room, too.  5:00 AM I finally went to bed after an early morning trip to CVS for some carpet cleaner.  Oh, it was gross.  Only a parent’s love… But, we are all feeling better now and everyone has stayed asleep so far, so I’m going to say it’s safe to go to bed.  I drew her this picture as sort of a get well soon card.

Also, just wanted to let you know, I’m working on a secret project that I hope to share with you soon so check back later this week.  That’s all I can say for now!  Have a great Monday!  Hope it’s better than you thought!

6 Replies to “Worse Than We Thought”

  1. First of all, Ella is freakin adorable. What a beautiful little girl you have.

    2nd, you’ve got mad Dora drawing skills. Props.

    Also, I’m extremely impressed she can read lips so well, that’s a rare and awesome gift! From God, no doubt.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry to read this. I will be praying that her hearing is not worsening. Those “rainbow” hearing aides should be a hoot lol.

    Cute card! What a good Daddy. 😉

    Luv luv,
    Becky

    Like

Comments are closed.