Raising World Changers

I want my kids to change the world.  Or at least feel like they could if they tried.

I feel like a world changer right now.  I’m probably overstating the influence I’m actually having, after all, my new Dads For Orphans site only got 34 hits today, and even though the concept is to move men to care for orphans about 70% of the fans on Facebook are women.  Even still, I realize that what I do will probably never affect millions (though I dream about it sometimes) instead my attempts at making the world a better place will hopefully affect at least one person!  And I live somewhere in between those two worlds right now.  Dreaming big, and seeing the small.

But I want to set the example for my children that if there is something you feel strongly about, if you see some injustice in the world, that you stand up for what you believe in.  It might be hard, but you will be an influence for good.

I can’t sit by and do nothing when I think about the millions of children who don’t have a family to call their own.  I happened across this link from @AdoptUSKids

https://twitter.com/#!/AdoptUSKids/status/129590706263171072

I clicked on the link and saw a young man’s profile who is so ready to have a family.  Then I searched for adoptable kids in my home state and watched some videos that some of the boys made and it broke my heart.  Somewhere out there, maybe one of you reading this, is a family, a dad, a mom, for these children.  What will happen to them if no one adopts them?  They just walk out the door? To what?  I feel like I have to do something.

I remember in junior high there were two kids who were picking on a friend of mine in the stairwell.  I remember being nervous, but walking over to them and telling them to leave him alone.  Then they started getting in my face to intimidate me (it was working) and challenged me to punch them first.  By some sheer dumb luck the punch I threw with the strength of a four year old girl landed in the exact spot on his stomach that made him double over and lose his breath.  He marched out of the stairwell threatening to go to the principal and I followed him downstairs telling him to go ahead, I’d just say I was standing up for someone else who he was picking on.  He walked toward the office and then out the front door.

Now, I’m not condoning violence (I’m not sure what I will tell my kids about throwing punches when they get older) but I am condoning standing up for what you believe in.  I hope my example of being an advocate for the orphans around the world will inspire my children that they too can have an impact on this world.

How are you raising world changers?

