The Storm and My Son

We heard his faint cries over the wind and rain sometime in the middle of the night. The power must have just gone out and the storm had scared him. More than that though, the white noise from his fan had stopped and the speckled light from the plastic blue star on his wall shut off. So the quiet woke him to the darkness.

I scooped him up in my arms and brought him to bed with us. His little boy body wrapped in his spaceship pajamas was heavy. He was still talking in that half asleep voice when I set him in the middle of our mattress where he quickly turned on his side. I snuggled up next to him and wrapped my arm firmly around him, holding him close to my chest.

He fell asleep almost instantly. I felt like he needed me.

I never want to forget that moment.

Then, only a few minutes later he groggily asked, “Where’s mommy?” And rolled out of my arms and toward her, where he spent the rest of the night.

6 Replies to “The Storm and My Son”

  1. I’m glad you had that little moment with your son. I’ve struggled w/ how easily my wife comforts and bonds w/ our kids. However, when they’re scared of big stuff like storms they bury their head in my chest and I wrap my arms around them.

    Like

  2. One of the rewards for being the one to respond to call of need…. The more you respond in time of need, the more they turn to you for comfort. Great Memory…. Heard wise words yesterday from Governor Christie, Parents should tell their children in frightening times, (like the storms of this week) i will protect you. How comforting for them to hear. Wise words….. Love to all of you…

    Like

Comments are closed.