On Persistence

An actual conversation with my five-year old son:

“Can I have gum?”

“No.”

.

.

“I have something to tell you. I really like gum.”

“Speaking of gum, can I have some?”

“No.”

.

.

“When Mom gets home can I have gum?”

“No.”

When can I have gum?”

“I don’t know.”

.

What time can I have gum?”

“I don’t know.”

.

I really want some gum.”

“No.”

“Please?”

“No.”

.

.

.

“I just want gum so badly.”

“No.”

“Awwwww…”

.

.

“I think I’ll never have gum again.”

“Maybe if you keep asking about it you won’t.”

“I’ll stop asking.”

“Dad, I’ll stop asking about gum?”

“OK. Good.”

.

.

“I stopped asking about it.”

.

“Dad, I stopped asking about it.”

“But you’re still talking about it.”

“Awwwww…”

[time passes and he’s still standing there]

.

.

.

“Whatcha thinking about?”

“I’m not gunna tell you…OK, I’m thinking about gum. That’s what I’m thinking about.”

.

.

“Come here… Do you want some gum?”

[Hands him a piece of gum.]

5 thoughts on “On Persistence”

  1. OH MY GOSH!!!!!! This is hilarious….I can’t stop laughing. Thanks for sharing this and making my day. Pax is amazing.

    Like

  2. So funny and so much like what happens in our house. Thanks for painting a great word picture. OK, I’ll stop asking about it…. Dad, do you hear me not asking about gum anymore? Great stuff, Lee!

    Like

Comments are closed.